Food trends

May 5, 2010 at 10:02 1 comment

The great new hype in Denmark is RAW food where the food you eat cannot be heated above 42 degrees Celsius, in order to preserve nutrients and enzymes in the food. Naturally most RAW foodists only eat fruit, vegetables and nuts, and are therefore vegan. Some eat raw milk and raw meat, but after scouting the RAW food blog world for a year or so, I can safely say that this is not the majority.

I love fruit, vegetables and nuts, and like to eat fresh food that nurtures my body optimally. But I also believe that you don’t always have to categorize how you eat, put everyone in boxes and get overly obsessed with your diet. Without it being intentional I often eat an all-raw breakfast, a 50-75% raw lunch (salad and eggs, salad and rye-bread or something like that), as well as a salad for dinner alongside my meat/egg/fish/starch probably being 30-50% of my evening meal depending on the day. And when I say it isn’t intentional, I mean that I don’t strive to be a RAW foodist – I simply eat what feels good in my body. Trying not to obsess with it.

I love to read blogs and “un-cook” books about RAW food, simply because I enjoy a lot of the recipes from this lifestyle. But my question is, why it has to be a lifestyle in the first place? Why do we have to constantly label how we eat? I don’t want to be a RAW foodist, an Atkins-girl, a carbohydrate-foresaker or any of the other labels that are often put on people that eat in different ways. I want to eat what feels good for ME and take what I need from any of the self-labeled regimes in the world of food and diet. Or should I say from nature? Fresh, wholesome and non-processed food that does me good. Period.

The question is also, how did raw food suddenly become something extraordinary? Raw food is a natural part of my diet every day, and I was really surprised when I first found out that there is an entire community making a label out of un-cooked food 🙂

A funny thing about this whole RAW food trend, especially in the US, is that it seems as if people embarking on a transition from their old diet to the RAW diet has to switch up their eats from almost no raw food to 75-100%. I must say that I am sometimes amazed by how little fresh and raw fruit and vegetables people eat, and seeing the “Jamie Olivers Food Revolution” programmes just made my amazement even greater. How can kids in American schools go by a day in school, eating only a fresh apple and everything else being processed? Yes I am truly amazed…

How do you feel about labels? Do you like to be able to label yourself with a certain way of eating? Do you even think about it?

Entry filed under: Health, Random.

Spring food Cinnamon Muffins

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. charskitchen  |  May 31, 2010 at 13:49

    I agree with you, I really hate how people put labels on what sort of an eater we are. In respect to how people are now being labelled as someone who eats raw food, i think that this is partly to do with the media. A while ago I read an article in a magazine about how many celebrities were going for a raw food diet, for example demi moore and jason mraz.
    http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Feeds

Previous posts


